Category: Pioneer

U Win Pe (GBNF)

U Win Pe (Richard, GBNF) ၉ -၁၁ -၂၀၂၁ အသက်၉၄နှစ်Passed away on November 9, 2021 at the age of 94 Younger brothersU Soe Win Youngest brother : ChE6x, GBNF Son (Thet Win, Architect, IT Professional) English (First Class Honors) MPA (Harvard) Bilingual Author & Translator Primary Pen Name (Mya […]


By Hla Min (Life Long Learner) Update : November 7, 2021 Alan Matthias Turing Famous British Mathematician and Pioneer in the Theory and Practice of Computing. Sample Contributions Turing Machine Abstract machine for Computation Church Turing Thesis Notion of Turing-Complete Computation Turing Test for Machine Intelligence Early Computers […]

B : Album

Update : October 11, 2021 Bogyoke Aung San Attended Rangoon University and received B.A. Took Law classes for a year before deciding to engage full time in politics. Active in the RU Student Union. Served in various capacities (e.g. Secretary in his early days). Chief Editor of Oway […]

Htin Aung

Dr. Htin Aung (GBNF) He is the younger brother of U Tin Tut (ICS), U Kyaw Myint and U Myint Thein. He served as Rector and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Rangoon. He is a prolific writer and a Folklorist. He writes about Burmese Culture & Customs, History, […]

U Silananda

Sayadaw U Silananda was a Trail Blazer for the Burmese monks doing Dhamma Duta missions in the USA and beyond. Last Journey Sayadaw (Rector, IMBTU and Chief Resident Monk, Dhammananda Vihara, Half Moon Bay, California) passed away on August 13, 2005. I had the honor to serve as […]

Burma’s Presidents

Democratic Burma Sao Shwe Thaik (1948 – 1952) Nyang Shwe (Yaunghwe) SawbwaFirst President of Burma Burma gained Independence on January 4, 1948 Dr. Ba U (1952 – 57)Author : “My Burma”Claimed that he was the first President to be elected according to the Constitution Mahn Win Maung (1957-62)He […]

Burma’s Son

UNSG (United Nations Secretary General) After the tragic death of Daj Hammarskjold, the United Nations Security Council selected U Thant (Permanent Representative of the Union of Burma, which co-founded the Non-aligned Movement) to succeed Hammarskjold as the Third UNSG and the first Asian UNSG. USSR vetoed USA’s nominee […]