Update : December 7, 2022

** Founder

Sir Arthur Eggar taught at Rangoon University the first time as a Lecturer in Mathematics.

He came back later as Professor of Law (in addition to being an Advisor for the Government).

He founded RUBC (Rangoon University Boat Club) in 1923.

** 40th Anniversary

I attended the 40th Anniversary Dinner in 1963. Sithu U Tin (President), U Po Zon (VP) and U Tin Htoon (A60, Past Captain, ARAE Champion in 1958 and 1960) compiled the History of RUBC for the Souvenir Magazine.

** 90th Anniversary

I served as Contributing Editor for the 90th Anniversary Souvenir Magazine in 2013. I wrote Prelude for each Section and three articles. I was the last EC to be elected at RUBC AGM. The higher authorities later came in, ignored the Byelaw and denied me the Captaincy.

U Tin Htoon (A60, Chair), U Myo Myint (EC67, Vice Chair), U Htaik San (Henry, M81, Secretary) headed the Magazine Committee.

Several Old Members donated to reprint the Memoirs of Sir Arthur Eggar.

** Photos

* Captains of RUBC

Tha Htin, Tun Thoung, Aye Maung,

Khin Maung Bo, C H Chan,

Kyaw Thein, Tin U,

W Ohn Pe, Chan Tha, Mg Mg Than Tun,

Myo Tint, Tin Htut, Than Nyun,

Tin Htoon, Han Tin, Sein Htoon,

Thaung Lwin

Not in picture :

GBNF (Ba Tun, Than Pe …)

overseas (Pe Nyun, Harry Saing, Tin Wa …)

* Five Captains

Four brothers : U Tin U, Dr. Myo Tint, U Tin Htoon, U Thaung Lwin (EC66)

& cousin : U Sein Htoon

* U Tin U, Dr. Pe Nyun (Dick), Dr. Pe Thein (Tom) and U Khin Maung Wint (Bobby) represented RUBC at the 1948 Independence Day Regatta at Kandawgyi.

U Tin U is the Oldest and Most Senior Past Captain.

Dr. Pe Nyun (Past Captain) led the team to operate on the conjoined twins Ma Nan Soe & Ma Nan San. He passed away in Canada.

Dr. Pe Thein was Professor and retired as Minister of Health & Education.

* Sir Arthur Eggar (Lifetime President) visited RUBC in the mid 50s.

He is seen with the members of the RUBC Coxed Eights Crew, which won the Challenge Cup donated by the President of the Union of Burma.

Aun Kyi (Cox)

Jimmy Saw Lwin, U Tin Htoon, U Than Tin and U San Maung (Gerald) rowed on the Stroke side

Dr. Donald Chan, U Tun Aung (George), Dr. Harry Saing (Htut Saing) and M. Hla Min (Moosaji) rowed on the Bow Side

* Winners of the Willingdon Trophy for Coxed Fours at the 1960 ARAE Regatta at Colombo

U Sein Htoon (M63, Cox)

U Tin Htoon & Victor Htun Shein rowed on the Stroke side

Dr. Harry Saing & Sunny Teng rowed on the Bow side

* Pyu Lin and Htaik San are members of the younger generation.

** Notes

* U Tin Htoon and Dr. Harry Saing won the Venables Bowl for Coxless Pairs at the 1958 ARAE Regatta in Calcutta.

* There were times where RUBC crews competed against RBC (Rangoon Boat Club) or Burmese Laung.

* Dr. Harry Saing and U San Maung later coached the younger members (especially the RUBC Selected). — with Dickie Sein Htoon and Tin Htoon.

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s