Update : November 15, 2022

There have been Ten Presidents for Three Eras.

Three for Union of Burma

  • Sao Shwe Thaik (1948 – 1952)
  • Dr. Ba U (1952 – 57)
  • Mahn Win Maung (1957-62)

The 17-man Revolutionary Council staged a Coup d’etat on March 2, 1962.
Sao Shwe Thaik and Mahn Win Maung were among those detained.

Sama Duwa Sin Wa Naung, who had been designated to succeed Mahn Win Maung as President, was unfortunate.

Sama Duwa Sin Wa Naung

Four for BSPP Era

  • U Ne Win (1974 – 1981)
  • U San Yu (1981 – 1988)
  • Dr. Maung Maung (1988 – 1988)
  • U Sein Lwin (1988 – 1988)

Under the then “new” Constitution, the One Party System was established.

Citing Insecurity after the 8-8-88, the Armed Forces took control.

Three for Quasi-Democratic Myanmar

  • U Thein Sein (2011 – 2016)
  • U Htin Kyaw (2016 – 2018)
  • U Win Myint (2018 – 2021)

Under another Hand-crafted Constitution of 2018, Myanmar practiced “limited” Democracy.

On February 1, 2021, Power Mongers detained Daw ASSK (State Councilor), U Win Myint, most Ministers and Members of Parliament.

Sad to see the former “Rice Bowl of Asia” being destroyed.

Categories: P Q R

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s