Presidents of Burma

Update : November 15, 2022

The Union of Burma gained Independence on January 4, 1948.

  • Sao Shwe Thaik (1948 – 1952) served as the first President.
  • He was succeeded by Dr. Ba U (1952 – 57). He wrote a book called “My Burma”.
  • Mahn Win Maung (1957- 62) succeeded Dr. Ba U. On March 2, 1962, a Coup d’etat was staged by the 17-man Revolutionary Council. Mahn Win Maung was imprisoned.
  • Sama Duwa Sinwa Naung (Kachin leader), who had been designated to succeed Mahn Win Maung, was unfortunate.

It would take more than a decade before the military leaders decide to shed their uniform and serve as “Civilian” President.

U Ne Win (1974 – 1981) served as President before he handed over to his deputy U San Yu (1981 – 1988).

The BSPP Party Convention in 1988 caused disruption and led to the dark days.

There were two “short term” presidents in 1988.

  • Dr. Maung Maung (1988 – 1988)
  • U Sein Lwin (1988 – 1988)

The 8-8-88 movement was crushed by the military, who instituted SLORC.

It would take some more time before there would be a President.

U Thein Sein (2011 – 2016) served as the first President of the Post-8888 Era.

In the subsequent election, NLD won the majority.

  • U Htin Kyaw (2016 – 2018) retired after two years.
  • U Win Myint (2018 – ) is the current President.

Categories: P Q R

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s