Early Departments (UCC)

Update : November 15, 2022

  • Office of the Director
  • Administration
  • Systems Division
  • Applications Division
  • Operations Division
  • Volunteers

Office Of The Director

Saya Chit (Dr. Chit Swe) was the Founder and Director of UCC. Saya Chit was Professor of the Mathematics Department at RASU. Saya has an office at RASU.

The Office is used to hold meetings with Board of Directors & Advisers.

It also provided service for the Experts including Dr. S. I. Saleeb (Project Director for the UCC Project) and Professor Harry D. Huskey (in charge of the “Knowlege Transfer” component).

Saya Dr. Tin Maung (Lecturer, Mathematics) succeeded Saya Chit as Director. He would spend full-time at UCC.



U Myint Aung (GBNF) was the Superintendent. He was healthy and passed away lately in his eighties.

U Myint Aung was succeeded by U San Win. U San Win was not so healthy and suffered a stroke.


There were Branch Clerks (BC), Upper Division Clerks (UDC) and Lower Division Clerks (LDC), Office Assistants (including Peons).

Some early Clerks include U Ba Than Chein, U Than Aye, U Tun Myint, U Khin Maung Lwin, and Daw Phyu Phyu Win.

The four Sayagyis (Saya Chit, Saya Paing, Saya Myo and Saya Lay) had a Peon as their Office Assistant.


In the beginning, there were three Secretaries (for preparing reports and teaching materials). They were

  • Daw Khin Lay Myint
  • U Win Myint (1)
  • Daw Khin Khin Su.

All later made career changes.

Daw Khin Kay Myint later became a BC. I met her at the 40th Anniversary UCC gathering. She is GBNF.

U Win Myint (1) was a High School Luyechun. He was caught by surprise when the new Education System used the controversial ILA system and assigned him to study Philosophy. With determination, he took courses at UCC and became a Programmer. He later worked (taught, translated …) at Winner Computer Group.

Daw Khin Khin Su moved to Total (Oil Company owned by the French).


There were Security Personnel (for the day, evening and night shifts).

U Tun Kywe, an army Veteran, usually “guards” the entrance to the Computer Room (on the Ground Floor of the UCC Building). He also vets the visitors climbing up the stairs to meet the staff.


There were several Maintenance Personnel. They include Daw Ngwe Tin, Maung Myint, Aye Aye Myint, Hla Hla Myint, San San Myint and U Hla Pe.


There were a couple of Drivers. Sad to note that Saya Chit’s driver (who moonlighted as a Side Car Operator) was hit by a train at a railroad crossing. There were “volunteer” drivers including U Myint Aung, U Win Hlaing, and U Soe Myint (Operations).

Systems Division

Saya U Soe Paing was Manager of the Systems Division.

Maintenance Engineers

The early engineers include U Tun Aung Gyaw (EC69), U Hla Min (EC69) and U Soe Win (EC70).

U Tun Aung Gyaw later served as Manager of Systems Division and Associate Professor at the Department of Computer Science (DCS) and Associate Professor of Hardware Technology at the Institute of Computer Science and Technology (ICST).

U Hla Min later served as Senior Systems Programmer, Manager of Business Applications Division, Lecturer at DCS and Associate Professor of Software Technology at ICST.

U Soe Win later transferred to PTC.

U Tin Win (Saya at RIT) joined UCC. He later moved to FRI.

Maintenance Technicians

The early technicians include U Aung Myint (who transferred from the RIT EE Lab), U Ngwe Soe (Silver), U Myint Soe (Byte) and U Khin Zaw.

U Aung Myint later became Maintenance Engineer.

U Ngwe Soe and U Khin Zaw moved overseas.

System Programmers

The early system programmers include U Aung Zaw, U Maung Maung Htay, U Than Lwin, U Soe Myint (KSM) and Rafiul Ahad.

U Aung Zaw moved to CSO, and later to Thailand and Australia.

U Maung Maung Htay taught at DCS and ICST before moving to the USA.

U Than Lwin moved to CSO, and later to Singapore.

KSM later joined the UN. He is now in the USA.

Rafiul studied at AIT and at USC (University of Southern California). He taught at the University of Maryland before joining HP, Ingres and Oracle. He is a Vice President of Cloud Computing at Oracle.


There were some volunteers and some (mostly graduate students) trainees. They include U Khin Maung Zaw (KMZ), U Sein Tin, U Maung Maung Tun, U Win Maung, U Htay Aung and Daw Tin Tin Pyone.

Later Eng U Tin Win and Daw Tin Tin Pyone moved to FRI (Forestry Reserve Inventory). Saya Zaw and U Than Lwin transferred to CSO (Central Statistical Organization). U Soe Win and Byte (U Myint Soe) transferred to PTC. KMZ moved to Singapore and then to the US. Rafi moved to Thailand and then to the US. Silver moved to Singapore. Saya TAG, U Mg Mg Htay and U Mg Mg Tun moved to the US. U Win Mg moved to Australia.

Applications Division

Saya U Myo Min was Manager of the Applications Division.

Saya Myo managed Application Programmers & Analysts for business applications, scientific & engineering applications.

Later, the Applications Division was restructured in Business Applications Division (with Saya Myo as Manager) and Scientific Applications Division (with Saya U Ko Ko Lay as Manager).

Saya U Soe Paing subsequently managed both Systems Division and Operations Division.

Application Programmers

  • U Mya Thein (GBNF)
  • U Thein Oo
  • U Mra Tun
  • U Kyaw Nyein (GBNF)
  • U Htin Kyaw
  • U Tun Shwe
  • U Aung Hlaing
  • Dr. Soe Than
  • U Myint Oo
  • U Win Naing (GBNF)
  • Daw Tin May Lwin
  • Daw Thin Thin Aung
  • Daw Nwe Nwe Win
  • Daw Nge Ma Ma Than (GBNF)
  • Daw Than Than Tin
  • Daw Gilmour Hole
  • U Boe Ba Shan
  • Daw Hpyu Hpyu Aung
  • U Sein Myint Maung
  • Daw Khin Aye Mu

Operations Division

Saya U Ko Ko Lay originally managed the Operations Division. After the restructuring, Saya Lay managed the Scientific Applications Division.

The Operations Division was handed over to Saya Paing.


  • U Hla Min (CO, GBNF)
  • U Mg Mg Gyi
  • U Maung Maung Lay
  • U Kyaw Swar
  • U Win Hlaing
  • U Soe Myint (M72, GBNF)
  • U Myint Swe
  • U Hla Aung
  • U Kyi Win
  • U Tun Kyi
  • U Tin Win
  • U Than Tun
  • U Myint Lwin (Charlie)

Several later made career changes as Programmers and Teaching Staff.

U Soe Myint (GBNF) retired as Pro-Rector of ICST.

In the early days, U Hla Min was the Chief Operator.

There were shift leaders (e.g. U Maung Maung Gyi, U Kyaw Swar, U Soe Myint).

There were three Shifts. The Morning Shift was run for staff, students and general users. The Evening and Night Shifts were run for selected user departments. The Population Census Data Project had a high priority.

There were several operators for card punch, manual punches, punched card verifier, and sorter.

Some did double duty as Job Controllers. They include

  • Daw Nyunt Nyunt Tin
  • Daw Thi Thi Aye
  • Daw Hla Hla Win (GBNF)
  • Daw Win May Thaung (GBNF)
  • Daw Kyu Kyu Lwin (GBNF)
  • Daw Khin Si Thaung.

Several later changed their careers or went overseas.

There was also a Librarian in charge of the Magnetic Disks and Magnetic Tapes.


  • Kudos to the many unsung heroes who volunteered for gratis or for a per Diem of Three Kyats and Fifteen Pyas.
  • They worked for various divisions.
  • Without them, the introduction of Computer Technology to Burma would not have been smooth and successful.

Categories: Memories

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s