Update : November 14, 2022

  • Calendar types
  • Julian Calendar
    Leap year : if a year is divisible by 4
  • Gregorian Calendar
    Leap year :
    if a Century year is divisible by 400
    Other years if divisible by 4
  • Burmese Calendar
  • A solar calendar is based on the orbit of the earth around the sun.
    Typically, it takes 365.2422 solar days to complete the orbit.
  • A leap year attempts to adjust the calendar by adding an extra day every four years.
  • A lunar calendar is based on the orbit of the moon around the earth.
    Typically, it takes 29.6 days to complete a cycle.
  • A luni-solar calendar is a “hybrid” calendar that uses “lunar” month and “solar” year.
  • The Burmese use a Luni-Solar-Socio-Religious Calendar.
    It is used for social and religious events.
  • There are 12 lunar months with a total of 355 days in a Common Burmese Year.
  • There is a difference of 10 days with a Common Year in the Gregorian Calendar.
  • An inter-calary month named “Second Waso” is usually added every three years to sync again with the Solar Calendar.
    It is known as “Wah Htutt”.
    If needed, an additional day is added in “Wah Gyi Htutt”.
  • Some other Luni-Solar Calendars (e.g. used by the Chinese) also have 12 months in a year and an extra month in the year in which the Lunar and Solar Calendars are synchronized.
  • The “Chinese” New Year may therefore occur in late January or early February.

Categories: A B C

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s