1948 - 1968

A58 – 60

Update : November 13, 2022

A58 (First Batch)

  • Saya U Myo Myint Sein
    Retired Professor

A59 (Second Batch)

  • Saya Dr. Lwin Aung
    Former Professor
    Retired, Pro-Rector
    Became Sayadaw
  • U Bo Gyi
    Partner, Architects Incorporated
    Pianist, Scuptor
    Designed Mausoleum for Daw Khin Kyi
    Became Sayadaw

A60 (Third Batch)

  • U Kin Maung Yin (GBNF)
    Modern art proponent, Film director
  • U Aung Kyee Myint
    Partner, Architects Incorporated
    Retired head of architecture at PWD
  • U Tin Htoon
    Partner, Architects Incorporated
    RUBC Captain/Gold, ARAE Champion,
    SEAP Silver medalist in yachting
    Co-founder, Triple Gem Publications
  • U Victor Pe Win
    Retired in Texas
  • U Koon Yin Chu
    First in Burma in 54 Matriculation
    Ggold medalist in Final Year Architecture


  • Miss S. Begum was the earliest known female engineering/architecture student, but she left for India before graduation.

Old Photo of the Three Batches

  • The old picture without captions was first sent by U Victor Pe Win to U Tin Htoon
  • The students were from
    2nd year (equivalent to 4th B.Arch)
    3rd year (equivalent to 5th B.Arch)
    Final year (equivalent to 6th B.Arch)
  • Ko “Henry” Htaik San ( RUBC Gold, Secretary of Southern California Burmese Associations, photographer, videographer) touched up the picture.
  • Per U Tin Htoon’s request, U Victor Pe Win has annotated the photo as follows:

First Row L to R:-
U Kin Mg Tint, U Tha Tun, Mr.H.A. Eswara, Mr. R.K.H. Johnson (Head of Arch. Dept.), U Ba Hli (Dean of Faculty of Engr.), Mr. O. Nagler, U Aung Myint, Miss S. Begum (2nd Yr)

Second Row:-
Myint San (Final), Htun Lwin (3rd), Kyaw Zaw (Final), Bo Gyi (3rd), Tin Tun Kin (Final), T. T. Kiat (2nd), Mg Mg Gyi (Final), Mg Mg Ohn (2rd), Myint Tun (3rd)

Third Row:-
Jack Min (3rd), Htay Ngwe (Final), Pe Win (2nd), V. Leong (3rd), Tham.T.Yu (2nd), K.Y.Chu (2nd), H.Hla Myint (2nd), Aung Kyee Myint (2nd), S.Hsiang Wu (2nd)

Fourth Row:-
Myo Myint Sein (Final), Tin Mg Yin (Final), Aung Thin (Final), Myint Thein (Final), Tin Htoon (2nd), Tun Than (Final), Kin Mg Yin (2nd), Hla Kyi (2nd)

Lwin Aung (3rd.)

Note : I have to search for the photo from my archives.

Categories: 1948 - 1968

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s