RU [65]

The early Student Strikes occurred in 1920, 1936 and 1938.


The strike in 1920 led to the establishment of National Schools and Ah Myo Tha College. It is celebrated as “Ah Myo Tha Aung Bwe Nay”.


The picture of the 1936 Student Strike appeared in the “Myanmar Swel Some Kyan” (Burmese Encyclopedia).

According to the posting, the event and the date in the Swel Sone Kyan are wrong.

The “correct” label lists the five students out picketing as

  • Chan Sein : Flag bearer (R)
  • Ma Khin Mya
  • (MA) Ma Ohn
  • (Ludu) Ah Mar
  • Saw Ba Hein : Flag bearer (L)
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 1936-strike.jpg


A factor that led to the strike was the expulsion of Bogyoke Aung San (Editor of “Oway”) for refusing to expose the author of “Hell Hound at Large”.

Categories: RU

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s