Rangoon University

RU [25]

Updates are shown in bold italics.

1960 – 1965

  • In 1961, the last Matriculation and High School Final (HSF) examination took place.
  • In December 1961, Burma hosted the Second South East Asian Peninsular (SEAP) Games.
    Burma placed First (according to the Tally of Medals) in the Games. Burma was dominant in Track and Field, Swimming and Diving (to name a few).
    About 20 students from the University of Rangoon represented Burma in the Games. Several won Gold Medals : Tun Mra (4 x 100 meters relay), Kyaw Mra (Hurdles), Soe Mra (Pole Vault), Richard Yu Khin (Yachting).

    Ko Richard (who lives in Texas) provided the group photo. He also wrote about the swimming training with Ko Tin Maung Ni under a Japanese coach.
    Met Ko Tun Mra, Ko Khin Maung Latt and Ko Tin Myint at the RUBC/YUBC Annual Regatta in December 2019. He mentioned that he, Ko Kyaw Mra, Ko Soe Mra and Ko Tun Naung represented Burma in the first SEAP Games held in Bangkok. Ko Kyaw Mra later became National Coach. Sadly, he is GBNF. Ko Khin Maung Latt was a multiple sports athlete in rowing, soccer and Track and Field. Ko Tin Myint (son of Arzani U Razak) is an active Old Member. He donated a trophy to YUBC.
  • In March 1962, the first ever High School Final (HSF) Only examination was held.
    In Rangoon, part of the examination took place with armed security guards roaming the streets.
  • On March 2, 1962, a 17-member Revolutionary Council staged a Coup d’etat.
    Sao Shwe Thaik’s son was killed.
    Mahn Win Maung (President), U Nu (Prime Minister), U Myint Thein (Chief Justice), several high ranking officers and many Sawbwas were imprisoned.
    U Myint Thein was among the first to be detained and the last to be released. He had only a part day off to attend the last journey of his spouse Daw Phwa Hmi (pioneer Burmese female barrister).
  • Sama Duwa Sinwa Naung had been selected to succeed Mahn Win Maung as the President, but the Coup ended the democratic parliamentary system.
    Sama Duwa is credited as saying “Khay Thu Ma Hout”.
  • The HSF examination results for Rangoon Division was annulled claiming that there was leakage of examination questions.
    The students were told to retake the HSF examination in August, 1962.
  • There were two Dark Days in July 1962.
  • Student protesters faced indiscriminate shooting on July 7, 1962. The newspapers and Myanmar Ah Than said that there were only 17 victims.
    Ko Aung Khin who was killed by a stray bullet on his way back from RUBC to his home in Windermere Road was listed as the 17th casualty.
  • On July 8, 1962, the revered RU Student Union Building was demolished.
  • In May 1963, the first ever Matriculation Only examination was held.
    St. Paul’s High School had five students in the Top Five, seven students in the Top Ten, and ten students in the Top Twenty.
  • In July 1963, the first Anniversary of 7th July 1962 was celebrated with magazines, posters and pamphlets.
  • Some time later, the higher authorities announced the closure of most schools except the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Engineering.
  • The Annual Regatta was canceled citing security reasons.
    Sithu U Tin (President of RUBC, father of Dr. Nyunt Tin and Saya U Han Tin) decided not to cancel the Dinner commemorating the 40th Anniversary of the Founding of RUBC by Sit Arthur Eggar (Law Professor).
  • The Soviet Union and the East Bloc nations offered scholarships for undergraduates and graduates.
    Some of my classmates (who were concerned about how long the schools will close) applied and were accepted.
  • The New Education System was enacted in November 1964.
  • The reorganization saw former Faculties as independent Institutes (with their own Rector and Registrar).
    In 1961, the Faculty of Engineering moved to Gyogone Campus and was also called Burma Institute of Technology (BIT). It did not have autonomy. U Yone Mo served as Dean. U Sein Hla (alumnus of MIT, son of U Bo Gyi) served as Registrar.
    Under the new Education system, BIT became Rangoon Institute of Technology (RIT). It had autonomy. U Yone Mo served as Rector. U Soe Thein (former student leader) served as Registrar.
  • Matriculates were admitted to the fresher classes at the Universities and Institutes under the controversial ILA (Intelligence Level Aggregate).
    The marks for each subject were converted to an ILA score (e.g. 1 – 10).
    Those who have “balanced” score can have a higher ILA than some one who has high marks is most subjects but a low score in one subject.
  • There were name changes to the degrees offered.
  • Majors were introduced.
  • LL.B was offered
  • The Lu Ye Chun program was initiated in the Summer of 1964.
    Outstanding students from middle school and high school was chosen as Lu Ye Chun.
    Nagali Lu Ye Chun Camp was opened.
    Ko Oke Soe Kha (MEHS), Ko Win Aung (TTC) and Ma Pwint Than (Loikaw) were high school Luyechuns from the first batch.
  • The Lu Ye Chun program was extended to students of the Universities and Institutes in the summer of 1965.
    Inlay Khaung Daing Camp was added.
    The Rangoon Combined Camp was also added.

Albums (Revised)

I have created albums. Members are requested to

  • add captions and comments
  • add photos to existing albums
  • create new albums (if required)

The following is a sampling:


  • Dr. Daw Yi Yi
  • Photo Credit : Old newspaper

Burmese (Myanmar Sar)

  • “Khit San Kabyar”
  • Saya U Wun (Minthuwun)
  • See Aung Pyie (Farewell to Mya Thilar)

Ma Chit Swe’s Autograph

  • Mom of Hazel Kyaw Zaw (Kyi Kyi May) and Friends
  • For annotation, see Hazel’s posts
  • Photo credit : Hazel Kyaw Zaw


  • Saya U Aung Khin
  • Dr. Aung Myint
  • U Kyaw Tun
  • U Maung Maung Gyi
  • Daw May Saw Lwin
  • Dr. Myint Tun (Henry Cho Tun)
  • U Nwe Aung
  • U Nyunt Win
  • Dr Soe Win
  • Dr. Tin Win (Alan)
  • Photo credit : U Tin Aye, U Thann Htutt Aung, Lin Htike, U Aung Mon


  • Photo taken at Studio
  • Photos taken inside Convocation Hall
  • Photos taken outside Convocation Hall
  • Photo credit : original uploaders


  • U May Aung
  • Sir Arthur Eggar (founder of RUBC)
  • Dr. Ba Han
  • U Kyaw Myint
  • Sayas and sayamas
  • LLB first batch
  • Photo credit : Maung Maung Naing


  • Sayagyi U Ba Toke
  • Sayagyi Dr. Chit Swe
  • U Aung Zaw
  • Dr. Khin Maung Swe (Tekkatho Maung Thin Char)
  • Photo credit : Htay Aung (Victor)


  • Sayagyi Dr Maung Maung Kha
  • Dr. Tin Aung
  • Dr. Aye Thein Kyaw
  • Daw May Su
  • Dr. Myo Thaik
  • Dr. Saw Wai Hla
  • Dr. Soe Myint Win
  • Dr. Win Naing
  • Dr. Zin Aung
  • Photo credit : Dr. Myo Thaik

Rectors and Registrars

  • Dr. Htin Aung
  • U Thet Lwin
  • Photo credit : U Than Po

RUBC (Rangoon University Boat Club)

  • Related : YUBC OMA

SEAP Games

  • Photo credit : Dr. Richard Yu Khin


  • UCC Alumni
  • UCC Gathering

Categories: Rangoon University

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s