De La Salle Brothers *

The De La Salle Brothers belong to a Roman Catholic Religious Order.

In Burma, they founded

  • St. Patrick’s High School (Moulmein)
  • St. Paul’s High School (Rangoon)
  • St. Peter’s High School (Mandalay)
  • St. Albert’s High School (Maymyo)
  • St. Columban’s High School (Bhamo)
  • St. Joseph’s High School (Loikaw)
  • De La Salle School (Twante)

St. Paul’s High School celebrated its Centennial during our school days and the Sesquicentennial a few years back.

St. Paul’s High School used to have an Honor Roll. It disappeared after the nationalization. It was recovered by U Soe Nyunt (Taw Win Hnin Si, GBNF).

Ko Richard San Tint is credited for the following photo.

The students from St. Paul’s High School stood First in Matriculation examination for the years
1951 George Chapman
1952 Dr. Nyunt Tin
1954 Koon Yin Chu (Phillip)
1958 Dr. Soe Win
1959 Dr. Frankie Ohn (Hla Ngwe Tin)
1963 Dr. Khin Maung U
1965 Bernard Khaw

The Paulians also scored in the Top Five in several years.
1952 Top Two
1956 Joint Third
1958 Top Two
1959 Top Four
1960 6th
1961 2nd
1963 Top Five, 7th and 9th
1964 3rd and 5th
1965 Top three and 5th (two Paulians)

Hla Min stood 7th in Burma in the Matriculation of 1963

Dr. Nyan Taw wrote :

SPHS63 was the best performance in SPHS history having top 5 positions and top 7 positions of the 10 top positions for whole of Burma. We, Paulians are very proud !

Categories: Schools

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s