HM : Medical Researchers

Founder Director

Dr. Mya Tu
  • Burma Medical Research Institute (BMRI) was founded by Dr. Mya Tu.
    Saya served as Director General.
    Compiled “Magnum Opus” with Daw Khin Htar Yee
    One covers “Who’s who in Medicine in Burma?”
    Another covers “Who’s who in Health Systems in Burma?”
    Saya passed away in Australia.
    Dr. Thane Oke Kyaw Myint posted about Saya’s Memorial Service.
  • He was succeeded as Director General by
    Dr. Aung Than Ba Tu (ATBT)
    Dr. Khin Maung Tin
    Dr. Daw May May Yi


  • BMRI later became Directorate of Medical Research (DMR)
  • The DGs include
    Dr. Than Swe
    Dr. Paing Soe

Young Researchers (BMRI-DMR)

Photo and Annotation : Dr. Nyunt Wai (Victor)

L to R:

  • U Aung Myint
  • Dr. Htay Htay
  • Saya (Professor Mya Tu)
  • Dr. Myo Thein
  • U Ba Aye (Statistician
  • Dr. Pe Thaung Myint (Sports Medicine)
  • Dr Htin Kyaw (Physiologist)

Categories: Doctor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s