Rangoon University

VB : Scholarship

Video Broadcast #100


  • 4th Standard (Scholarship) Exam
    Win Myint (Myeik) wrote : ကျနော်ကတော့လေးတန်းစကောလားရှစ်ရဖူးပါတယ်ဆရာကြီး
  • 7th Standard (Scholarship) Exam
  • Collegiate Scholarship
  • SS (Science Scholar)


  • State Scholars
  • UN Fellowship
  • Colombo Plan Fellowship
  • Grants by Governments, Institutions, Foundations …

Dr. Ye Myint (my cousin nephew from U.K.) wrote :

Interesting. I received similar 75 Kyats per month but did not get any money till we were in Second year. With inflation, it was not much but enough pocket money for food and drinks.

Some early Collegiate Scholarship winners

  • U Ba Than matriculated from St. John’s Diocesan in 1947 and won the Collegiate Scholarship.
  • U Khin Aung Kyi stood 7th in 1949 and won the Collegiate Scholarship

Rules for Collegiate Scholarship

The rules change over the years.

In the early days, the Top Twenty Five (or so) students were awarded Collegiate Scholarship.

In 1960, the Top Hundred students were awarded Collegiate Scholarship. Dr. Than Toe placed 99th and won the Collegiate Scholarship.

In 1963, those for the non-government schools have to place in the Top Forty to be awarded Collegiate Scholarship.


In the Matriculation of 1963, five Paulians won the Top Honors.

SPHS had seven students in the Top Ten and ten students in the Top Twenty.

  • Khin Maung U (George, SPHS, First in Burma)
  • Min Oo (Kenneth, SPHS, 2nd)
  • Myo San (Freddie, SPHS, 3rd, GBNF)
  • Nyunt Wai (Victor, SPHS, 4th)
  • Thein Wai (SPHS, 5th)
  • Kenny Wong (MEHS, 6th)
  • Hla Min (SPHS, 7th)
  • Winnie Aung (Branch Convent, 8th, top among female students)
  • Aung Kyaw Zaw (Johnny Mg Mg, SPHS, 9th)
  • Maung Maung Kyi (SPHS, 11th)
  • Khin Tun (St. John’s Dio, 12th)
  • Aung Thu Yein (Brownie Way, SPHS, 13th, GBNF)
  • Khin Maung Zaw (Frank Gale, 17th)
  • Aye Aye Kyu (Ch 6, 1969, Morton Lane Judson High School, Moulmein, 36th in the list announced in ‘The Guardian’ Newspaper dated 6th August 1963)

Group Photo

Min Oo (Kenneth, 2nd)
Khin Maung U (George, 1st)
Myo San (Freddie, 3rd)

Hla Min (7th)
Khin Maung Zaw (Frank, 17th)
Nyunt Wai (Victor, 4th)
Thein Wai (5th)
Maung Maung Kyi (11th)
Aung Thu Yein (Brownie, 13th)
Aung Kyaw Zaw (Johnny, 9th)

Old Paulians’ Association Dinner

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is sphs-award-1.jpg
OPA Dinner

Honor Roll

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is sphs.jpg
Honor Roll

Old Paulians (Top Matriculates)

  • 1951 :
    George Chapman (First in Burma)
  • 1952 :
    Dr. Nyunt Tin (First in Burma)
  • 1954 :
    Koon Yin Chu (First in Burma)
  • 1956 :
    Dr. Than Myint (Harry Wang, Joint Third)
  • 1958 :
    Dr. Soe Win (First in Burma)
    Robert Sein (Second)
  • 1959 :
    Dr. Frankie Ohn (First in Burma)
    Dr. Shewan Lee (Second)
    Dr. Than Nwe Aung (3rd)
    Rocky (Joint Fourth)
  • 1960 :
    Dr. Thane Oke Kyaw Myint (6th)
  • 1961 :
    Dr. Kyaw Win (Robin Ban, Second)
  • 1963 :
    Dr. Khin Maung U (First in Burma)
    Five in Top Five
    Seven in Top Ten
    Ten in Top Twenty
  • 1964 :
    Dr. Aung Winn Chiong (Roll No. 1 for IM2)
    Dr. Min Lwin (Maurice Hla Kyi, Roll No. 2 for IM2)
  • 1965
    Bernard Khaw (First in Burma, Roll No. 1 for Chemistry)
    Maung Aye (Second)
    Winston Sein Maung (Third, GBNF)
    Dr. Yi Thwe (Joint 5th, Roll No. 1 for IM1)
    Dr. Paing Soe (Freddie San Shwe, Joint 5th, Roll No. 2 for IM1)

Categories: Rangoon University

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s