SEAP Games *

  • The First SEAP (South East Asia Peninsular) Games was held in Bangkok in 1959.

Second SEAP Games

  • The Second SEAP Games was held in Rangoon in December 1961.
  • Aung San Stadium was the main venue for Track & Field and Soccer.
    The indoor stadium hosted Basketball, Volleyball, …
  • Swimming, Diving and Water Polo contests were held at the Amyotha Yay Koo Kan (National Swimming Pool) on U Wisara Road.
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is university-athletes.jpg
University Athletes for 2nd SEAP Games 
Photo : Richard Yu Khin
  • Dean U Yu Khin was Chairman of the Sports Promotion Committee.
  • U Tin Maung Swe was Secretary of the Sports Promotion Committee.
  • Dr. Ko Ko Lay was Chairman of the University Sports Council.

The University Students represented Burma in the Games include

  • Tun Mra, Kyaw Mra, Soe Mra and Tun Naung (Athletics)
  • Derek Lynsdale and Aye Kyaw (Swimming)
  • Richard Yu Khin (Yachting)
  • Joe Ba Maung, Than Lwin and Mu Mu Khin (Tennis)
  • Mao Toon Siong and C. Say Eng (Table Tennis)
  • Maung Hla and Thida (Badminton)
  • Myo Nyunt (Weightlifting)
  • Kyaw Han (Volleyball)
  • Nyan Min (Basketball)


  • In Track and Field, Burma placed first in the medal standings.
  • Tun Mra won a Gold in the 4×100 m relay with Soe Aung (Burma Champion) as anchor.
  • Kyaw Mra won Silver in the Hurdles.
    He would later serve as National Coach.
  • Soe Mra won the Pole Vault.
  • Tun Mra, Kyaw Mra and Soe Mra are the sons of U Shwe Mra.
  • The ladies won several Gold Medals.
    e.g. Gracie Carr won the 100m and the Long Jump.


  • In Swimming, Burma placed first in the medal standings.
  • Tin Maung Ni won 200m, 400m, 800m, 1500m, 4x100m freestyle relay, and 4×100 medley relay.
  • His team mates won the other events.
  • Aye Kyaw (cousin of Dr. Hla Yee Yee) and Derek Lynsdale are RU athletes.
    Aye Kyaw later joined the Navy.


  • Richard Yu Khin won Gold in Yachting with U Maung Maung Lwin (Commodore of Rangoon Sailing Club).


  • Joe Ba Maung was the National Singles Champion in Tennis.
    He and Than Lwin were the National Doubles Champion.
    He and Sayama Daw Ruby Kha won the National Mixed Doubles.
  • Than Lwin would succeed Joe Ba Maung as the Singles Champion.
  • Mu Mu Khin (Daphne Tha Dok) was the Ladies Champion.
  • Than Lwin and Mu Mu Khin later married.

Table Tennis

  • Mao Toon Siong was Burma Champion for Singles and Doubles in Table Tennis.
    He later served as National Coach.
Mao Toon Siong


  • The Burma team won the Gold Medal.
  • Kyaw Han is an athlete from Rangoon University.

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s