Champions *


Myee Tun Naw was Burma and SEAP Champion for Marathon.

The Mra brothers — Tun Mra (sprint), Kyaw Mra (hurdles) and Soe Mra (Pole Vault) — represented Burma in the 1st and 2nd SEAP Games. They won Gold Medals.

Shin Bwegun was Burma and SEAP Champion for 5000 and 10000 meters. He succeeded Myee Tun Naw as Marathon Champion.

Jimmy Crampton was Burma and SEAP Champion for 1500 meters.

Gracie Carr, Ma Tin Pu, Ma Khin Htay, and Jennifer Tin Lay were Burma Champions in Track and Field.


Kyar Ba Nyein was a Boxing Champion in the early days. He trained several boxers who became National Champions.

Thein Myint and Tin Tun were Burma Boxing Champions. They represented Burma in SEAP, Asian Games and Olympics.


The list of RUBC Golds can be found in the 90th Anniversary Issue of the founding of RUBC.

There is a Facebook group for YUBC Old Members.

U Tin Htoon and Dr. Harry Saing won the Venables Bowl for coxless pairs at the 1958 ARAE Regatta in Calcutta.

U Tin Htoon, Dr. Harry Saing, Victor Htun Shein, Sunny Teng and U Sein Htoon won the Willingdon Trophy for coxed fours at the 1960 ARAE Eegatta in Colombo.


Suk Bahadhur played soccer for Shan States, Army and Burma. He was Captain of the Burma Selected. He was also chosen as a Asian All Star.

Other Asian All Stars include

  • Maung Maung
  • Khin Maung Tun (Goal)
  • Tin Aung (Goal).


Tin Maung Ni was from Bhamo, Kachin State. He represented Rangoon University, Navy and Burma.
He won several Gold Medals at the SEAP Games and the Asian Games. He competed in the Olympics.

Table Tennis

Saya Mao Toon Siong (M62) was Burma Singles and Doubles Champion in Table Tennis. He represented Burma in SEAP, Asian Games and Wold Championship. He served as Coach of the National Table Tennis team.


Joe Ba Maung was Burma Singles Champion in Tennis. He was Burma Doubles Champion with Than Lwin. He was Mixed Doubles Champion with Sayama Ruby Kha.

Than Lwin succeeded Joe Ba Maung as Burma Singles Champion. His spouse Mu Mu Khin represented RU and Burma in the Second SEAP Games.

Later, Maung Maung Lay (Ah Pu Lay) became Burma Singles Champion in Tennis. He was Burma Doubles Champion with Than Htut.

KMZ wrote :

Jimmy Crampton is an OP, Old Paulian. If my memory serves me one of his running partners was non other than our own Dr. Rafiul Ahad, ex-UCC.

Dr. Richard Yu Khin wrote :

I was on the swim team with Tin Maung Ni who is a gentleman. Ten of us were trained by Mr. Matsuda who was on the Japanese national swim team. Mr. Matsuda was manager of a Japanese company in Rangoon. He made us swim six 50 metres sprints, with one minute interval. The time difference for the 1st and 6th sprints — the decline curve should be limited. This was the first time we had scientific training in swimming. Tin Maung Ni was the only Asian, other than Japanese, to win a gold medal in swimming at the Asian Games. The US Embassy provided a goodwill tour of USA for Tin Maung Ni. He is from the Kachin State.

Burma produced Asian Selected including Suk Bahadur, Maung Maung, and Goalkeepers — Khin Maung Tun and Tin Aung.

The First Division matches are played at Aung San Stadium. The teams include Rangoon University, Burma Railways, Customs, Army, Navy and several others. The bottom teams in the League get relegated to Second Division the following year.

My uncle U Win Tin (GBNF) took me to watch soccer matches. We watched selected matches (e.g. Dunlop Trophy) and some International matches (e.g. 2nd SEAP Games).

The Northern and Southern Stands cost about fifty pyas, but they provided limited scope and vision. But, they have roofs.

Grand Stand costs about five kyats. It would be a rare treat to watch from the Grand Stand (especially near the center line).

The Open Stand opposite the Grand Stand is a good compromise for about K1.50. We had to carry umbrella or wear raincoat for matches during the Rainy Season.

The Inter State and Division (ISD) Soccer tournament was established in 1952. Shan States with Suk Bahadhur won the inaugural tournament ISD Champions.

Mandalay (with Ba Pu), Tennessarim (with Ko Ko Gyi), Irrawaddy (with Hla Htay) became Contenders and/or Champions. Many players were recruited by the First Division teams and some became Burma Selected.

  • Thet Win
  • Philip Smythe
  • William Smythe

Dr. Richard Yu Khin wrote :

Swimmers trained by Mr. Matsuda in 1959 include Derek Lynsdale (backstroke), Aye Kyaw (Hla Yee Yee’s cousin) and Willie Huie (breast-stroke). A few years ago saw photo of Thet Win at Kokine Swimming Club, and Aung Than who is working as swim coach in Bangkok. Derek Lynsdale’s mother was a Lecturer at Rangoon University who moved to a university in East Africa subsequent to military coup in 1962. Aye Kyaw was Tin Maung Ni’s deputy in the Burma Navy.

Categories: Sports

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s