VB : 1960 and 1961

Video Broadcast : #118
December 7, 2020

Matriculation in 1960

  • Dr. Austin Kyan (MEHS) stood First in Burma
    He moved overseas.
  • Dr. Nyan Win stood Second.
    His crew won the Senior Novices at RUBC.
  • Arthur Hla Maung (GBNF) stood Third.
    He and his friends were active in the Science Association.
    He passed away before graduation.
  • Marie Nyun stood Fourth.
  • Indian lady stood Fifth.
  • Dr. Thane Oke Kyaw Myint (SPHS) stood Sixth.
    Co-founder, Alumni of Institutes of Medicine in Myanmar
    His colleagues, friends and former students published a book for his 70th birthday.
  • The top students were separated by one mark.
  • The SPHS Brothers were not happy since SPHS scored well in the previous years.
    Top Two in the Matriculation of 1958.
    Top Four in the Matriculation of 1959.

Several from SPHS60 received Collegiate Scholarship.

They include

  • Dr. Henry Cho Tun (Myint Tun, Chemistry)
    Scored highest marks in I.Sc.(A) and I.Sc(B) Combined
  • Thaung Lwin (EC, RUBC Captain and Gold)
  • Myo Myint (EC, RUBC Gold)
  • Than Htut (M, RUBC Gold)

ARAE Regatta in Colombo (1960)

  • Harry Saing (Bow, GBNF)
    RUBC Captain
    Pediatric Surgeon and Professor
    Multiple sports athlete
  • Victor Htun Shein (2, GBNF)
    Perished in a BAF plane crash
  • Sunny Teng (3)
    Moved abroad before graduating from Engineering
  • Tin Htoon (Stroke)
    RUBC Captain
    Volunteer / Leader : selected organizations
  • Sein Htoon (Cox)
    RUBC Captain
    President of Burma Rowing Federation

    The team won the Willingdon Trophy for Coxed Fours

    Dr. Htin Aung was Burmese Ambassador for Ceylon (Sri Lanka)

Fledgling Sayas in 1960

  • U Tin Htut (M)
  • U Tun Shwe (M)

Election in 1960

  • Won by Pyidaungsu (former Clean AFPFL / Thant Shin) Party
  • The Care Taker Government (who reigned from August 1958) handed over the power in April 1960
  • U Nu became First and Last Prime Minister in the Union of Burma

Matriculation in 1961

  • Lina Ong (MEHS) stood First in Burma.
  • Dr. Robin Ban (Kyaw Win, SPHS) stood Second.

Other Matriculates from SPHS include

  • Dr. Thein Tun (EP)
  • Htun Aung Kyaw (ChE)
  • Sein Shwe (M)
  • Kyaw Kyaw (C)

Burma Institute of Technology (BIT)

  • Faculty of Engineering moved to Gyogone Campus was renamed BIT.
  • The Burmese Government gave Rice to the Soviet Union for its three projects including BIT.
    The Government did not accept the “gifts”.

Fledgling sayas in 1961

  • Dr. San Tint (Electrical)
  • Dr. Aung Soe (Civil)
  • U Maung Maung Win (Mechanical)

Second SEAP Games

  • Burma hosted the Second SEAP Games in December 1961
  • Several RU athletes represented Burma and won Medals.

Categories: Notes, Video

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s