VB : 1956 and 1957

Video Broadcast : #116
December 6, 2020

Matriculation in 1956

  • U Ye Myint (St. Peter’s, Mandalay) stood First in Burma.
  • U Thaung Tin (St. Peter’s) was Second.
  • U Khin Maung Than (St. Peter’s) was Joint Third with Dr. Than Myint (Harry, Physics, SPHS).
  • U Soe Paing (RIT, UCC, UN) won Collegiate Scholarship.
  • Other Matriculates include
    U Ko Ko Lay (PWD, UCC, DCS, ICST, GBNF)
    U Win Htain (PWD, GBNF)

RUBC in 1956

  • Union of Burma Prime Minister’s Challenge Cup for Inter-Club Fours
  • Inaugural event in 1956
    CLC Fours
    CURC Fours
    RUBC Fours
  • Union of Burma President’s Challenge Cup for Inter-Club Fours
    Replaced U Nyo’s Challenge Cup
  • Inaugural Event in 1956
    CLC and CURC Combined Eights
    RUBC Eights

Matriculation in 1957

  • Dr. Htin Kyaw (Physics, Younger Twin, Sacred Heart) stood First in Burma
  • Nellie Liu (MEHS) stood Second.
  • Dr. Htin Aung (Physics, Elder Twin, SH, GBNF) stood Sixth.
  • Other Matriculates include
    Daw May Saw Lwin (Ch)
    Daw Mu Mu Kin, Spouse of Allen Htay (C58, GBNF)
    U Sein Htoon (M63, RUBC Captain and Gold, ARAE Champion in 1960, President of Burma Rowing Federation)
    Dr. Tin Wa (Ch / Pharmaceuticals, RUBC Captain and Gold)
    Dr. K C Chiu (Tin Aung, ChE63, President of BEA)

RU in 1957

  • Dr. Hla Myint (Mack, ChE57) is from the first batch of ChE graduates in Burma

Categories: Broadcasts, Notes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s