Rangoon Institute of Technology

RIT Associations *

U Maung Maung Than
  • During our days at RIT, there were eight engineering departments and some non-engineering (supporting) departments.
    Most departments have an association.
  • There were athletic associations.
  • The list of EC and Selected are not exhaustive

RIT Badminton

  • President :
    Saya U Thein Lwin (GBNF)
  • Selected :
    Sai Kham Pan (EP69, Burma), U Myint Sein (M69), Bishnu Shahi (EE69er)

RIT Burmese Association

  • President :
    Saya U Tein Kyi
  • EC Members :
    U Zaw Min Nawaday (EP70)
  • Activities :
    Kya Ban Sagar (e.g. Phone Thwin)
    Guest Lectures

RIT Chess

  • Founding members :
    Soviet Lecturers,
    U Aung Than (EE),
    U Maung Maung (M),
    U Thet Lwin (EE)
  • Selected
    U Tin Swan (Burma)

RIT Chinlon

  • President :
    Saya U Maung Maung Than (GBNF)
  • Secretary :
    U Soe Tint
  • Selected :
    Dr. Htin Aung (C69),
    U Tin Shein (M69)

RIT Civil Engineering Association

The following served as Secretary

  • Dr. Myo Khin (C70)
  • U Saw Lin (C71, GBNF)
  • U Ko Ko Gyi (C73, GBNF)

RIT Electrical Engineering Association

The following served as Secretary

  • U Shwe Win (EE67)
  • Mehm Ye Win (EC69)
  • U Hla Min (EC69)

The Association published “Hlyat Sit Sar Saung“.
Saya U Moe Aung was the Chief Editor. Dr. Sann Oo (EP67), U Myo Myint (EC68) and Daw Than Yi (EP70, Maubin Ma Shwe Than) were associate Editors.
I was a member of the Magazine committee.

RIT English Association

Activities include

  • Debate between first year and second year students
  • Newsletter
    Chief Editor: Saya Des Rodgers
  • Scrabble
    Organizers: Saya Des and Saya U Khin

RIT Hiking and Mountaineering

  • Secretary :
    U Win Lwin (M69)
  • Selected :
    U Aung Khin (M67), U Cho Aye (M70, GBNF), Daw Kyi Kyi Sein (T70)

RIT Hockey

  • President :
    Saya U Tin Hlaing (GBNF)
  • Selected :
    Owen Khoo (M71), Metha, U Khin Maung Zaw (EC76), U Thura Thant Zin (M76), Phyo Wai Win (M76)

Hostel Committees

At BIT, there was a “Thahaya and Sar Phat Ah Thin” (Social and Reading Clubs).

At RIT, there was Hostel Committees.

Activities include

  • Inter-Block Tournaments
  • Tazaung Dine Festival
  • Annual Dinner and Entertainment

RIT Mechanical Engineering Association

The following served as Secretary or Vice President.

  • U Win Thein (M67, GBNF)
  • U Pe Oo (M67)
  • U Aye Lwin (M69)
  • U Zaw Min
  • U Khin Maung Thann (M72, 65 Intake)
  • U Myo Myint

The association produced a weekly publication called “Set Hmu Thadin Zin” from 1964 to around 1974.

U Win Thein was the founder.

The Association published “Set Hmu Magazine”.

RIT Photography

  • President :
    Saya Allen Htay (GBNF)
  • Secretary :
    Dr. Koung Nyunt (A67, GBNF)

RIT Rowing

  • President :
    Saya U Sein Win (GBNF), Dr. San Hla Aung, Saya U Tin Htut
  • Secretary :
    U Aung Lwin (Jasper, C70)

RIT Soccer

  • Coach/Manager :
    U Maung Maung
  • Selected :
    U Kyaw Htin (C67, Burma), U Soe Myint Lwin (EC68, Burma, GBNF), U Khin Maung Lay (Henry, T68), U Myo Nyunt (C70), U Khin Maung Lay (Mutu, M70), Sai Thein Maung (C70), U Myint Sein (Jabu, M70), U Kyaw Sint (T70, GBNF), U Khin Maung Myint (John Tint, M72, Burma, GBNF)

RIT Sports Council

  • Chair :
    Saya U Maung Maung Than (GBNF)
  • Activities include
    Annual Awards Ceremony

RIT Swimming

  • President :
    Saya Dr. San Hla Aung, Saya U Sein Win (GBNF), Saya U Hla Myint (Charlie)
  • Secretary :
    U Htay Aung (M69), U Win Aung (M70)
  • Selected :
    Htay Aung (Burma), Han Sein (GBNF), Sein Myint, Moe Hein, Hla Kyaing, Win Htein, Aung Tun Oo, Wunna Sithu

RIT Table Tennis

  • Coach/Manager :
    Saya Mao Toon Siong
  • Selected :
    U Maung Maung (Sin Gyi), Stan Liou (M67), U Win Myint (EE67), U Tin Myint (M69, GBNF), U Nyunt Tin (M70)

RIT Tennis

  • President :
    U Tu Myint
  • Selected :
    U Soe Tha (EC67), U Tun Kyi (M67, GBNF), U Kyaw Nyunt (M69, GBNF), James Than

RIT Thaing

  • President :
    U Tin Maung Nyunt
  • EC :
    Dr. Tun Aung Gyaw (EC69), U Min Din

RIT Track and Field

  • President :
    Saya H Num Kok
  • Secretary :
    U Aung Gyi Shwe (E, GBNF), U Khin Maung Lay (Henry, T68)
  • Selected :
    Saw Maung Maung Htwe, Victor Aung Myin, Eric Aung Myint, Maung Maung Thaw, Kyaw Myint, Sai Thein Maung, Khin Maung Lay, Aung Gyi Shwe

RIT Weightlifting and Body Building

  • Coach/Manager :
    Saya Dr. Kyaw Sein
  • Selected :
    Jimmy Kyin (T69, GBNF), U Khin Win (EP69, GBNF), U Thein Aung (Met72)


  • RIT Automobile Club
  • RIT Buddhist Association
  • Ah Nu Pyinnya Ah Thin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s