Rangoon Institute of Technology

SF Bay Area Alumni *

  • Saya Allen Htay (C58, GBNF) was the leader of the group.
    He served as President of RIT Alumni International, which organized the First RIT Grand Reunion and Saya Pu Zaw Pwe (also known as SPZP-2000).
    He wrote “Brother, Can you spare $500 and more?” to raise awareness of SPZP-2000.
    Five Golden Sponsors — Steeve Kay (EC70, Southern California), Benny Tan (M70, Northern California), David Ko (M67, Northern California, GBNF), Ivan Lee (M69, New Jersey) and Ko Maung Maung Than (M79, Texas — and many other donors helped with the success of SPZP-2000.
  • Benny Tan (Tan Yu Beng, M70) hosted several meetings for the sayas and alumni in the San Francisco Bay Area.
    He served as co-chair, Working Committee for SPZP-2000.
    He was a Golden Sponsor.
    He designed the SPZP-2000 Banner, Commemorative T-shirt, Mug and Calendar/Clock.
  • Maurice Chee (Hla Myint Thein, M75) served as co-chair, Working Committee for SPZP-2000.
    He was also the Financial Controller and Publisher of the commemorative RIT Alumni International Newsletter.
    He also handled the Logistics, Printing of Tickets & Badges, and Picnic.
  • Saya U Nyo Win (M65), Saya K C Chiu (ChE63), and Saya U Maung Maung (George, ChE66) served as members of the Steering Committee for SPZP-2000.
  • Saya U Nyo Win worked for High Tech companies in the USA and Taiwan. He is a founding member of NorCal RITAA and served for a term as Board of Director.
  • Saya KC and his older brothers Saya Dr. Aung Soe (C61) and U Soe Thein (EE60) attended SPZP-2000.
    After retirement, Saya K C Chiu moved to Southern California.
  • Saya George is a founding member of NorCal RITAA and served for a term as President.
  • Saya U Myat Htoo (C68) served as Emcee for SPZP-2000.
    He is a Past President of BADA and TBSA.
    He is a founding member of NorCal RITAA and is Chair of BOD (Board of Directors).
    He played “Lost Neikban (RIT version)” on the Ukelele at the Gatherings for 2015 RIT Alumni Reunion in Los Angeles and NorCal Annual Dinner.
  • Saya U Thein Aung (James, Met72) served as co-Emcee for SPZP-2000.
    As Associate Editor of the Commemorative Issue of RIT Alumni International, he compiled the brief bio of Sayas and Sayamas (especially those invited for SPZP-2000).
    He was Mr. RIT in 1968.
  • Gordon Kaung (Kaung Kaung Oo, M83) is the youngest member of the Group.
    He offered Transportation Service for SPZP-2000.
    He is a founding member of NorCal RITAA and served as President for two terms.
    He and his spouse Lillian Kaung (EC83) hosted several RIT events at iNapa Winery.
  • U Hla Min (EC69) started the RIT Alumni International Newsletter in April / May 1999.
    Served as Content Provider for the RIT web site.
    Wrote 64 “Countdown to the Union” and 36 “Post Reunion” news and articles.
    Composed “SAYA PU ZAW PWE” poem.
    Was a member of the Working Committee and Chief Editor of the Commemorative Issue of the Newsletter. U Thein Aung and Henry Lim served as Associate Editors. Maurice Chee served as Publisher.

Meeting / Gathering at Ko Benny’s House

Seated : Gordon, Saya Allen, Saya KC, Maurice
Standing : Saya George, Hla Min, Saya Thein Aung, Saya Nyo Win, Saya Myat Htoo, Benny

Meeting in 2002

  • Dr. Myint Thein (M73) wrote several articles for RIT Alumni International.
    e.g. An Apology to Sayagyi U Ba Toke
    His pen name was Ba Thein (Atlanta).
    He received his doctorate from Georgia Tech, Atlanta.
  • U Aye Tun (Anthony, M76) was a fund raiser for several organizations (including BAPS and RIT Alumni International).
    He also had to buy tickets from other organizations.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s