UCC Memories


Update : December `12, 2021

Saya Chit


Dr. Chit Swe founded UCC (Universities’ Computer Center) with the help of Saya U Soe Paing, Saya U Myo Min and Saya U Ko Ko Lay (GBNF). The UCC staff and students address the founding members as Saya Chit, Saya Paing, Saya Myo and Saya Lay.


I have written about Saya Chit in several of my posts. He is a Pioneer and a believer of Life Long Learning, Knowledge Transfer, Leapfrogging Technology and the Talents of the Burmese sayas and students. He is my mentor. More importantly, he allowed me to work on most of his projects (including Preparation for the UCC Project, High School Mathematics Curriculum Change, Children’s Treasury of Knowledge, and Team of System Specialists).


Saya Chit ensured that there would be a component in the UCC Project to invite short term and long term Computer Scientists and Educators to UCC. Professor Harry D Huskey (Past ACM President and a Computing Pioneer) was given the sub contract to help with the academic and professional courses being given at UCC.

Saya Chit made sure that the post-graduate diploma (DAC) and post-graduate Computer Science courses were given under the “Mathematics Department” until a separate CS Department could be opened.


Saya Chit served as Director of UCC in addition to being Professor of Mathematics.

Saya Chit moved back to RASU, but never lost his passion about his pet baby UCC.

Saya retired as Rector of RASU. Saya then relocated to Thailand and Australia. Saya continued supervising graduate students in Australia. Saya is still passionate about UCC, Computers and Education in Burma and beyond.

Dr. Tin Maung

Saya Chit was succeeded by Saya Dr. Tin Maung as Director of UCC.

Saya Dr. Tin Maung retired as Rector of ICST.


During Saya Tin Maung’s tenure, the Department of Computer Science (DCS) was established under RASU. Saya U Ko Ko Lay (GBNF, brother of U Than Htut M67) was Professor. U Tun Aung Gyaw served as Associate Professor. I was a Lecturer.

The Institute of Computer Science and Technology (ICST) was established in 1988 with Saya Dr. Tin Maung as Rector.

There were initially four Departments :

  • Hardware Technology (with U Tun Aung Gyaw as Associate Professor and Head)
  • Software Technology (with Yours Truly as Associate Professor and Head)
  • Information Systems (with Saya U Ko Ko Lay as Professor and Head)
  • Computational Mathematics

30 students were admitted to the first B.Sc (Computer Science) course.

15 students were admitted to the first B.Sc. (Computer Technology) course.

ICST later became UCSY (University of Computer Studies Yangon).


There have been gatherings to

  • celebrate the 40th Anniversary of the founding of UCC
  • celebrate the 30th Anniversary of the founding of ICST
  • 5th Acariya Puzaw Pwe of ICST/UCSY in January 2018
  • 6th Acariya Puzaw Pwe of ICST/UCSY in December 2019

In January 2018, I was invited as the Generation Zero Member to attend the ICST/UCSY hosted the 5th Acariya Puzaw Pwe and give a short speech.

During my visit to Yangon in January and February of 2018, I spent almost three whole days writing “Memories of UCC”. I had provided Word and PDF files, but the UCSY sayamas suggested that I should submit a shorter version for the commemorative magazine for the 30th Anniversary has come out.

Categories: UCC Memories

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s