Rangoon Institute of Technology

RIT Alumni & Associations

Update : December 11, 2021

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is bay-area-0.jpg
SF Bay Area Alumni Group
Saya U Maung Maung
U Tin Htut
U Hla Min

RIT Alumni helped establish the following Associations in California :

  • BEA : Burmese / Bay Area Engineers Association
    Saya U Htin Paw (EE58, GBNF) was a founding member of BEA and served as its First President.
    He also served as President of TBSA.
    He wrote articles for RIT Alumni International Newsletter and SPZP-2000.
    Saya U San Tun (Sain Fone Wong, M59) succeeded U Htin Paw as President of BEA.
    He invited us to his 7 Oh party, his son’s wedding reception …
    Saya K C Chiu (Dr. Tin Aung, ChE63) succeeded U San Tun as President of BEA.
    During his tenure, BEA merged with BASTS into BAPS.
  • BAPS : Burmese American Professional Society
    Saya U Nyo Win (Dr. K H Chen, M65) served as the inaugural President of BAPS.
    He also served as Editor of BAPS Newsletter.
    Benny Tan (Tan Yu/Eu Beng, M70) succeeded U Nyo Win as President of BAPS.
    Maurice Chee (U Hla Myint Thein, M75) succeeded Benny Tan as President of BAPS.
    The Three became founding members of RIT Alumni International and Core Organizers for SPZP-2000.
  • BASES : Burmese American Society for Engineers and Scientists
    Saya U Tin Htut (M60), U Tin Htway (M59) and U “David” Tun Tin founded BASES.
    They adapted the BAPS bye-laws and added the needs for those in Southern California.
    Several sayas and alumni served as EC members (President, VP, Secretary, Advisor).
    They include U Tin Htway (M59), Saya Dr. Chris Lee (L Tin Htun, EE59), Saya U Tin Htut (M60), Dr. Tin Win (M62), U Aung Khin (EP68), U Tin Nwe (Milton, C68), U Khin Maung Lay (Henry, T68), U Tun Aung (Jeffery, EC68), U Thura Thant Zin (M76) …
  • RIT Alumni International
    It was founded primarily to host SPZP-2000 and to provide support to RIT Alumni Newsletter (founded by U Hla Min, EC69), and the first RIT web site (designed and implemented by U Khin Maung Zaw, EC76).
    Saya Allen Htay (C58) served as President.
    Maurice Chee (M75) served as Treasurer.
    He and Benny Tan chaired the Working Committee for SPZP-2000.
    They wore multiple hats for SPZP-2000.
    In addition to the five mentioned above, the founding members included Saya K C Chiu (ChE63),
    Saya U Maung Maung (George, ChE66), Saya U Myat Htoo (C68), Gordon Kaung (M83) …
    Several more sayas and alumni (including BAPS and BASES members) volunteered for SPZP-2000.
  • Norcal RITAA
    It was founded in part to continue the Vision and Mission of RIT Alumni International.
    Saya U Maung Maung (George, ChE66) served as the inaugural President.
    Gordon Kaung (M83) succeeded U Maung Maung as President.
    U Aung Myint Oo (EC84) succeeded Gordon Kaung as President.
    Stan Liou (M67) served as the inaugural Chair of BOD (Board of Directors).
    Saya U Myat Htoo (C68) succeeded Stan Liou as Chair of BOD.
    Some activities:
    Financial support for children of alumni in Norcal & for eligible YTU students
    Support for YTU Library Modernization
    Annual Dinner and/or Picnic
    Coordinate with BASES for 2015 RIT Alumni Reunion in Los Angeles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s