RU : 1930s, 1940s and 1950s *

  • Second World War
  • 1946
  • 1947
  • 1948 and 1949
  • 1950s

Second World War

  • The Second World War started in 1939 in Europe and spread to Asia.
  • The University of Rangoon suspended classes for three years : 1943 – 1945.
  • Per Sayagyi U Ba Toke :
    There were some make-shift classes at the ad-hoc University in Mogul (Shwe Bon Tha) Street.
    Sayagyi taught Mathematics there.


  • Rangoon University was reopened in 1946.
  • Saya U Tin U (C), Saya U Sein Hlaing (Professor, EE), Dr. Pe Nyun (Pediatric Surgeon) and Dr. Pe Thein (Professor, Minister) attended Rangoon University in 1946.


  • Pinlon Sar Choke (Panglon Agreement) was signed on February 12, 1947.
    Some ethnic races did not attend the Pinlon Conference.
  • Nine Arzanis — Bogyoke Aung San, Thakin Mya, Deedok U Ba Cho, Mahn Ba Khaing, Sao San Htun (Mong Pawn Sawbwa), U Ba Win, U Razak, ICS U Ohn Maung and Yebaw Ko Htwe — were mercilessly gunned down at the Secretariat on July 19, 1947.
    All except Sao San Htun (who was hospitalized with fatal wounds and died on July 20, 1947) perished that day.
    Three ministers including Bagan U Ba Gyan escaped.

1948 and 1949

  • Burma gain Independence on January 4, 1948 at 4:20 AM.
    Sao Shwe Thike / Thaik became the first President of the Union of Burma.
    U Nu became the first Prime Minister.
  • Two factions — White Flag led by Thakin Than Tun and Red Flag led by Thakin Soe — of the Burma Communist Party (BCP) went underground. There was several groups in the armed rebellion.
  • For a short period of time, the Burmese government was called “Yangon Ah So Ya“.
  • Thanks in part to the arms sent by neighboring India, and the volunteer RU students, the planned conquest of Rangoon was derailed. The tide was turned, and Burma was back on the road to normalcy,
  • The Union of Burma had a bi-caramel parliament.


  • Dr. Ba U served as the second President.
    In his book “My Burma”, he considers himself as the first President elected in accordance with the Constitution of the Union of Burma.
    The general public considers him as the Second President (who succeeded Sao Swe Thike).
  • Many States Scholars were sent to the prestigious universities in the USA and UK to pursue undergraduate and graduate studies.
    In 1954, there were 400 Burmese State Scholars (many from the “Twinning Program” proposed by Sayagyi U Ba Hli).
    Dr. Aung Gyi, U Min Wun and U Maung Maung Than were the early recipients of the “Twinning Program” to pursue undergraduate and graduate studies at prestigious universities (e.g. MIT, Cornell).
    Upon their return, they supplemented and later replaced the foreign sayas.
    Some worked for government departments and the Industry.
  • The split in the AFPFL (Anti-Facist People’s Freedom League) party into Clean AFPFL [Thant Shin] and Stable AFPFL [Ti Mye] caused the handover to the “Ein Saunt Ah Soe Ya” (Caretaker Government) in the late 50s.
    Some (e.g. U Nu) consider the event as the first Coup d’etat.

Categories: P Q R

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s