Some Prominent ICS

ICS U Tin Tut

According to Dr. Thane Oke Kyaw Myint, his Bagyi (father’s elder brother) U Tin Tut was the first Burmese ICS (by invitation). U Tin Tut has four daughters. The youngest Daw Mya Saw Shin (Molly) is a lawyer and author. ICS examinations were held in UK and India.

ICS U Sein Tin

ICS U Sein Tin (Theikpan Maung Wa) co-founded Khit San Sar Pay with Saya U Thein Han (Zawgyi) and Saya U Wun (Minthuwun).

HE U Htin Kyaw (Dalaban) and Daw Htar Cho posted photos and writings (e.g adoption of Burmese terms by RU in 1930) of their father Saya Minthuwun.

ICS James Barrington

ICS James Barrington (RUBC Gold) served as Permanent Representative (equivalent to Ambassador) of the Burmese Delegation to the United Nations. He was succeeded by U Thant, who went on to become the Third UNSG and the first Asian UNSG.


RUBC was founded in 1923 by Law Professor Sir Arthur Eggar. He pledged a third of his salary for operating RUBC. He was elected Life President. His successors include Commodore Than Pe, U Tun Thoung and ICS U Tin.

Dr. Nyunt Tin, elder son of U Tin, stood First in Burma in the Matriculation of 1952 from St. Paul’s High School. U Han Tin, younger son, is RUBC Captain and Gold. He also became an Administrator and/or President of YUBC.

ICS U Ohn Maung

ICS U Ohn Maung (father of Saya U Tin Maung Thein, Ko Francis and Dr. Min Min) is an Arzani. He passed away on July 19, 1947 along with Bogyoke Aung San and six ministers in the meeting room.

ICS U Tin Ohn

According to Dr. Tin Wa, his father ICS U Tin Ohn was in the Secretariat on July 19, 1947. He was a former tutor of Bogyoke Aung San. His boss (a minister) survived the shooting with a slight injury and requested U Tin Ohn to stay in the Secretariat.

Ko Tin Wa was interviewed recently by BBC about that day.

Many ICS served as Secretary (Chief Assistant to a Minister).

ICS U Shwe Mra

ICS U Shwe Mra was Chief Secretary of an early Burmese Government. According to his daughter Mra Hnin Si, U Shwe Mra provided the environment (e.g Pole Vault) for his children to become University and/or Burma Selected. Six brothers (out of the Ten Siblings) are Scholar Athletes.

I last met Ko Tun Mra at the RUBC/YUBC Annual Regatta in December 2019. He won medals in 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay at the University and National Championship. He won a Gold for the relay (anchored by Burma Champion Ko Soe Aung) at the 2nd SEAP Games held in Rangoon in December 1961. Ko Kyaw Mra (GBNF) won Silver, and later became National Coach. Ko Tun Mra and Ko Kyaw Mra won the Rag Regatta, but were Senior Novice Runner Up at the Monsoon Regatta. They were awarded RUBC Full Green.

Ko Soe Mra won Gold for Pole Vault at two SEAP Games. Ko Win Mra gave up competitive Pole Vault at the advice of doctors. He is a guitarist, vocalist and a diplomat (Myanmar Ambassador to UN, Chair of Myanmar Human Rights Commission). Ko Maung Maung Mra won Silver for Pole Vault at SEAP. Dr. Aung Mra followed his elder brothers as Pole Vault Champion.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s