Random Jottings

  • Some of our sayas (e.g. Dr. Aung Gyi, U Min Wun, U Maung Maung Than, U Khin Aung Kyi, U Soe Paing) applied for “States Scholar” before graduation.
  • Some (e.g. U Sein Hlaing, U Tin Swe, U Allen Htay, Dr. San Hla Aung, U San Tun) joined the faculty and were selected to do post-graduate studies.
  • Saya Dr. Yan Naing Lwin e-mailed me a copy of the “Burmese state scholars in the USA ’54”.
    There were about 400 state scholars including Saya U Sein Hlaing and Saya U Tin Swe.
  • An academic year usually spans two years.
    e.g. 1968 – 1969 academic year
  • To save space and time, I use the end year instead of the start year and end year
    e.g. Class of 1969 (or simply Class of 69)
  • In the early days, the Faculty of Engineering accepted students who had completed I.Sc. (two years of Intermediate of Science) with the “Pure Science” option with reasonable marks.
  • The engineering classes are named 1st year of Engineering to Final (4th year of Engineering).
  • There were no “Instructors” (but ONLY “Assistant Lecturers”) for the Faculty of Engineering.
    They are “gazetted officers”.
  • The Halls (e.g. Prome) would aggressively seek outstanding athletes (footballers, tennis players, rowers, …).
  • U Chan Tha is Past Captain and Gold of RUBC Gold.
    He played soccer for the Faculty of Engineering, Rangoon University and Burma.
  • Under the then new Education system (in the mid 1960s), the positions for “Instructors” were created.
    It meant, most sayas have to wait to become Assistant Lecturers.
  • Ko Benny Tan (M 70) lent me a copy of the “RIT Handbook” for 1964.
    I published the list of permanent and part-time sayas and sayamas in one of “RIT Alumni International Newsletter” updates.
  • Saya U Moe Aung (EE) has old copies of “Hlyat Sit Sar Saung” and RIT Annual magazines.
    He served as Chief Editor for both publications.
  • Saya Charlie Kaw (Tex, GBNF) brought to USA projects of his final year students.

GBNF for UCC sayas and alumni

  • Dr. Chit Swe (Founder / Director)
  • Dr. Tin Maung (Director)
  • U Ko Ko Lay (Co-founder)
  • U Hla Min (EP70, Chief Operator)
  • U Mya Thein (Business Applications)
  • U Soe Thein (Business Applications)
  • U Kyaw Nyein (Scientific Applications)
  • U Win Naing (Scientific Applications)
  • U Soe Myint (M72, Operations)
  • U Khin Maung Aye (M73)
  • U Shein Soe Myint (EC83)
  • U Aung Aung Thein (EE 8x)
  • U Hla Aye (Bhaimyar)
  • U Myint Aung (Admin)
  • Daw Win May Thaung
  • Daw Kyu Kyu Lwin
  • Daw Hla Hla Win
  • Daw Khin Lay Myint (Admin)
  • Daw Khin Mya Swe
  • Daw Khin Toe Nyein
  • Daw Thida Aung

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s