Founders of Khit San Sar Pay

  • Theikpan Maung Wa (ICS U Sein Tin)
  • Zawgyi (U Thein Han)
  • Minthuwun (U Wun)

There were the early students at the then newly established “Burmese Department” at the University of Rangoon (per request of Sayagyi U Pe Maung Tin, Pali and Burmese Scholar).

Nwe Soe (Professor U Myo Min, English) supported Khit San Sar Pay.

Founders of UCC

  • Sayagyi Dr. Chit Swe
  • Saya U Soe Paing
  • Saya U Myo Min
  • Saya U Ko Ko Lay (GBNF)

Details can be found in my article “Paying Back to UCC” and several posts on Saya Chit, Saya Paing, Saya Myo and Saya Lay.


  • U Pe Maung Tin (First native Principal of Rangoon College)
  • Dr. Htin Aung (First native Rector of University of Rangoon)
  • U Ba Hli (First native Dean of Engineering, University of Rangoon)
  • Dr. Mya Tu (Founder/Director of Burma Medical Research Institute)
  • Dr. Chit Swe (Founder/Director of UCC)

Early Sayadaws in the UK

  • Sayadaw U Thithila
  • Sayadaw Dr. Rewata Dhamma

Early Sayadaws in the USA

  • Sayadaw U Silanandabhivamsa (Northern California)
  • Penang Sayadaw (Southern California)
  • Sayadaw U Kelasa (East Coast)

Early Scholars to the UK

  • Dr. Hla Myint (Economics)
  • Dr. Tha Hla (Geology)
  • Dr. Maung Maung Kha (Meteorological Physics)

Early recipients of the Twinning Project

  • Dr. Aung Gyi
  • U Min Wun
  • U Maung Maung Than

Categories: Pioneer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s