A Catholic Brother is one who has taken three vows :

  • Chasity
  • Loyalty
  • Poverty.

De LaSalle Brothers is an Order in the Catholic Church. Their mission is to promote education.

They founded St. Patrick’s HS (Moulmein), St. Paul’s HS (Rangoon), St. Peter’s HS (Mandalay), St. Albert’s HS (Maymyo), St. Joseph’s HS (Loikaw), St. Columban’s HS (Bhamo) and De La Salle School (Twante).

Old Paulians include ICS U Tin Tut, U Chan Htoon, Dr. Ba Han, Dr. Ba Maw, H.E. U Than Aung, and Vipassa Sayagyi U Ba Khin.

Saya Sein was our Burmese teacher in high school.
Saya Kyaw Sein taught VII(A) and was our relieving teacher.
They are the father and uncle of Saya Dr. Soe Win (Chemistry, ICST, Retired Principal of UFL)

SPHS used to have an Honor Roll with the outstanding Matriculates : mostly first in Burma like George Chapman (1951), Dr, Nyunt Tin (1952), Koon Yin Chu (1954), Dr. Soe Win (1958), Dr. Frankie Ohn (1959), Dr. Khin Maung U (1963).
After nationalization, it disappeared.
It was recovered by Ko Soe Nyunt (Taw Win Hnin Si).

Sayagyi U Ba Khin (Vipassana Meditation Teacher) was first in Burma prior to the Honor Roll.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s