Laung : for traditional rowing in Burma

Leg rowing : [mostly] for Inntha (inhabitants if Inlay Lake)

In the early days, the western style of rowing was done at RBC (Rangoon Boat Club). It was an exclusive club.

Rangoon University Boat Club (RUBC) was founded by Sir Arthur Eggar, Law Professor and Cambridge alumnus, and several Burmese students (U Ba Tun, …) in 1923. Details can be found in

40th Anniversary Magazine (in 1963)
Compiled/edited by U Tin Htoon (A60) with the help of ICS U Tin (President) and U Po Zon (Vice President)

90th Anniversary Magazine (in 2013)
Compile/edited by team : U Tin Htoon (Chair), U Myo Myint (EC67, Vice Chair), U Htaik San (Henry, M81, Secretary) and members (including Daw Joe Phyu (EE76) and yours truly).
I wrote “Prelude” for the sections and short articles.

Autobiography of Sir Arthur Eggar
Saya U Tin Htut (M60), U Tin Htoon, U Myo Myint, U Htaik San (Henry), Daw Joe Phyu, U Thura Thant Zin (M76), …, Dr. Donald Chan and yours truly donated for the publication.
The articles were first published in the Guardian Magazine. It covers the rowing days at Cambridge, founding of RUBC, trips to Rangoon (first as a Mathematics teacher and later as a lawyer and Professor), …

10 kyats (annual membership)
50 kyats (or so, for life time membership)

EC (Executive Committee)
Honorary Treasurer
Honorary Secretary
Vice Captain

The EC is elected by voting at the AGM (Annual General Meeting).
I was the last Treasurer to be elected by the members.
The next year, I became the last Vice Captain.
The following year, I should have been Captain, but the higher authorities had a new rule.
I became “sadder but wiser”.

Early Presidents
Sir Arthur Eggar (Life time)
Commodore Than Pe
Sithu U Tin

Two busts were made to honor Sir Arthur Eggar and CTP.

During the Adhamma Days, SAE’s bust was put in a place (out of sight).
The Board listing the ECs was also “moved” (out of sight).

Senior Novice => Winning crew wins the Eggar Pewter & special pins

Saya U Tin Htut (cox), U Tun Shein (Willie Saing, Stroke), U M Hla Min (Moosaji, 3), Dr. Than Nyunt (George Nyunt, 2), Sao Hso Holm (Mawn Pawn Sawbwa Lay, Bow) was the all-OP (Old Paulians) crew to win Senior Novice in 1954.

Dr. Tin Wa (cox), U Victor Htun Shein (GBNF, Stroke), Mr. Sunny Teng (3), U Mya Maung (Minn Aung, 2), Mehm Than Thaung (Maurice Tun Thaung, Bow) was a Golden Crew. They won Senior Novice and Color Challenge for both the Monsoon Regatta and the Annual Regatta.

Half Green
For details, read the 90th Anniversary Magazine

Defense Rowing Club
Commodore Than Pe (GBNF), Bohmu Maung Maung Than Tun, … formed the club.
Both served as Captains of RUBC.
CTP was Minister of Education and Health. He passed away and was succeeded by Colonel Hla Han.
U MMTT is the oldest living Past Captain of RUBC. He is a few months older than Saya U Tin U (C), who is the oldest senior Past Captain of RUBC.

Burma Rowing Federation
Western and Traditional Rowing
Later include Kayak …
My brother U Sein Htoon (M63, Past Captain of RUBC) retired as President.

Rag Regatta (one day fun-filled program)
Monsoon Regatta
Annual Regatta

ARAE Regatta
FEARA Regatta

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s