1957 – 1959


Space Race

  • The Space Race started in earnest.
  • USSR had the lead.
  • Yuri Gagarin became the first man in space.
  • Gherman Titov set an endurance record.


The Senior Novices was won by
Byron Law Yone (Bow)
Chit Swe (2)
Yin Maung (3)
Than Soe (Stroke)
Hla Moe (Cox, GBNF)

  • Dr. Byron Law Yone later competed for the Faculty of Medicine. Hither’s newspaper “The Nation” covered RUBC news.
  • The remaining four represented the Faculty of Engineering.
  • U Than Soe (M63), elder brother of Dr. Koung Nyunt (A67), is RUBC Gold.
  • U Hla Moe perished at sea. He was taking the trip in the schooner owned by his father U Maung Lwin (Dawei).


  • Several state scholars (including sayas) returned after completing their studies in the USA.
  • Many joined the Faculty of Engineering, University of Rangoon.
    Some sayas became Lecturer and/or Head of Department.
  • Some joined UBARI, government departments and GTI.
  • Saya Dr. Hla Myint (Mack) and Saya Dr. Maung Maung Win were members of the first batch of Chemical Engineering graduates.



  • Two Paulians — Saya Dr. Soe Win and Robert Sein — stood First and Second in the Matriculation examination of 1958.
    They chose to study Chemistry Honors & Physics Honors respectively.
    Dr. Soe Win retired as Rector of YUFL.
  • U Myo Min (UCC) and U Khin Maung Htun (GBNF) were their classmates.


  • Saya Allen Htay (C58, GBNF), Saya Dr. San Hla Aung (C58), and Saya Dr. Win Thein (C58) graduated in Civil Engineering in 1958. They joined the faculty.
    Saya Allen passed away in 2014. He retired three times and un-retired twice.
    Saya Dr. San Hla Aung retired as Professor of Practice from Tulane University, New Orleans.
    Saya Dr. Win Thein retired as Professor of Civil Engineering from YTU.
  • Saya U Htin Paw (EE58, GBNF) and Saya U Ba Nyunt (EE58) joined the Electrical Engineering Department after graduation.
    Saya U Htin Paw served as President of BEA and TBSA in the USA.
    Saya U Ba Nyunt moved to MOGE.
  • Saya U Myo Myint Sein (Raymond, A58) and his classmates became the first batch of Architecture graduates.
    After retiring as Professor and Head of Architecture, he moved to the USA.


The following crew won Senior Novices in both the Monsoon Regatta and Annual Regatta. They also won the Color Fours for both Regattas the following year. They all later represented RUBC.

Maurice Tun Thoung (Bpw)
Mya Maung (2)
Sunny Teng (3)
Victor Htun Shein (Stroke, GBNF)
Tin Wa (Cox)

  • Saya Mehm Than Thoung (Maurice) taught us Physics in our I.Sc.(A). Saya served as Director from DHE (Directorate of Higher Education), and retired as Rector of the University of Distance Learning.
  • U Mya Maung is now known as U Minn Aung. I met him at a BASES dinner in Los Angeles. He claimed that he won all the races that he took part at RUBC.
  • Sunny Teng studied Engineering, but he left for North America (Canada or USA) before graduation.
  • U Victor perished when his Trainer Jet hit a power line.
  • Dr. Tin Wa is Past Captain and RUBC Gold. He edited some Dhamma Newsletters and books.


  • RUBC won the Venables Bowl for Coxless Pairs at the ARAE (Amateur Rowing Association of the East) Regatta held in Calcutta in 1958.
  • Harry Saing (Bow)
    Tin Htoon (Stroke)
  • They would also win the Willingdon Trophy for Coxed Fours at the ARAE Regatta held in Colombo in 1960.

Saya Maurice wrote :

Ko Hla Min—Thanks so much for remembering us. I was at the Physics Department, Rangoon University till 1986 when I joined the Directorate of Higher Education and later became Director. From there I was promoted to Rector at University of Distance Education in 1994 and retired in 2000. RUBC gold in 1961 and now one of the Patrons of RUBC Old Members Association. I am now mostly occupied doing religious deeds at Sukar Padi Padar Saddhamaransi Meditation Centre which is situated in Yankin Tsp in Yangon (a branch of Main Saddhamaransi Med Ctr at Mayangone Tsp in Yangon)

Wishing you all the best,
Min Than Thoung (Mehm Than Thoung/Maurice T T)

World Cup

  • Brazil won the World Cup (and Jules Rimet Trophy) at Sweden in 1958.
  • Pele (Brazil) became the youngest player (in fact the first teenager) to score goals in a World Cup Final.



  • Four Paulians led by Frankie Ohn took the top spots in the Matriculation examination of 1959.
  • Ko Frankie was named “Tin Hla” to complete the sequence : Tin Nyo, Tin Bo, Tin Mo, Tin Wa, Tin Hla. He changed it to “Hla Tin Ngwe” to include his mother’s name. He took Physics Honors and later completed his doctorate in the USA.
  • His classmates include Saya U Tin Hlaing (ChE65, Singapore Polytechnic) and Saya U Thein Aung (Micky Tan, Physics, RUBC Gold, GBNF).


The following joined the Faculty after graduation. Some updates are provided.

  • Saya U San Tun (M59)
    retired as Head of Automobile Engineering (sub-dept of Mechanical)
    moved to USA
    Past President of BEA
  • Saya U Tin Hlaing (M59, GBNF)
    served as Head of Agricultural Engineering (sub-dept of Mechanical)
    President of RIT Hockey
    did not have access to the two dialysis machines
    did not have passport in time to have treatment abroad
  • Saya Dr. Ba Lwin (EE59)
    often visits his daughter in California
  • Saya U Myo Kyi (EE59)
    Patron of Alumni Association
  • Saya L. Tin Htun (Dr. Chris Lee, EE59)
    retired from NASA
    Past President of BASES
  • Saya Dr. Lwin Aung (A59)
    retired as Pro-Rector of YTU
    presently is a Sayadaw


  • Despite claiming that “AFPFL will dominate for at least four decades”, the internal infighting caused a major split in the late 50s.
  • The Thant Shin (Clean AFPFL) faction led by U Nu and Thakin Tin survived the “No Confidence” motion in the Parliament thanks in part to the support of Pa Ma Nya Ta Members.
  • The Ti Mye (Stable AFPFL) faction led by U Ba Swe and U Kyaw Nyein had the majority in the party, but lost the “No Confidence” motion.
  • The split in the AFPFL party resulted in a Caretaker Government.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s