RUBC Gathering in 1963

Posted : August 12, 2019

1963 Gathering

Citing security reasons (following the outcry of the first Anniversary of 7th July atrocities), the Annual Regatta in 1963 was cancelled.

Sithu U Tin (President, RUBC, Father of Dr. Nyunt Tin and Saya U Han Tin) decided not to cancel the party (booked at a hotel in Kandawgyi) to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of the founding of Rangoon University Boat Club.

In 1923, Sir Arthur Eggar, Professor of Law at the Rangoon University and member of the Cambridge University Rowing Club, pledged a third of his salary for RUBC’s expenses. The philanthropist U Nyo donated for the construction of the Club House.

RUBC Gathering in 1963


Some attendees are seen in the group photo.

They include

  • Saya U Thein Aung (Micky Tan, SPHS59, RUBC Gold in 1962)
  • Bohmu Hla Min (Eddie, Orthopedic Surgeon, Golden Cox)
  • U Win Kyi (SPED, son of Sayama Amelia Kyi (“Miss Hong Kong”, SPHS, RUBC Gold in 1960)
  • U Thaung Lwin (Captain and RUBC Gold in 1963)
  • U Myo Myint (RUBC Gold in 1962)
  • U Tin Htoon (ARAE Champion in 1958 and 1960)
  • U Than Htut (RUBC Gold in 1963)

U Myint Soe (Willie Soe Maung), U Kyaw Wynn, U Maung Maung Kyi and I matriculated from SPHS in 1963. We were Runner-up for the Senior Novices in the Monsoon Regatta for 1963. We were awarded Full Green at the end of the term. Our cox was U Myint Thein (SPHS62, younger brother of U Win Htein and U Myo Myint).

1962 Crew

Dr. Harry Saing (U Htut Saing, Pediatric Surgeon) is Past Captain and Gold of RUBC. He normally rowed on the Bow side.

At the ARAE Regatta held in 1958 at Calcutta, India, Dr. Harry Saing won the Venables Bowl for Coxless Pairs with U Tin Htoon (Past Captain and Gold) as Timing Stroke.

At the ARAE Regatta held in 1960 at Colombo, Ceylon (Sri Lanka), Dr. Harry Saing won the Willingdon Trophy for Coxed Fours with U Tin Htoon (Timing Stroke), Sunny Teng (3), Victor Htun Shein (2) and U Sein Htoon (Cox).

For the Annual Regatta of 1962, Dr. Harry Saing served as Coach and Timing Stroke of the RUBC Eights.

U Win Kyi (Gold, Son of Sayama Amelia Kyi (“Miss Hong Kong”, SPHS) rowed as (7) on the Bow side.

Seven members of the selection became “new” Golds. They are

  • U Tin Aung (Victor Wu, Cox)
  • U Myo Tin (William Hone, Stroke side)
  • U Htain Linn (Stroke side)
  • Mehm Myo Thoung (Maurice Tun Thoung, Stroke side)
  • U Myo Myint (Bow side)
  • U Oung Kyaing (Bow side)
  • U Thein Aung (Micky Tan, Bow side)

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s