For archive (Updated on February 20, 2019


  • Robin Ban (Dr. Kyaw Win, SPHS61) placed Second in the Matriculation examination in 1961.
  • Lina Ong stood First.
  • It would be the last “Matriculation & HSF Combined” examination.


In the following years, the students have to sit

  • HSF (High School Final) Only
  • Matriculation Only.

They essentially lost one precious year.


The Faculty of Engineering, University of Rangoon moved to the Gyogone Campus.

It was named Burma Institute of Technology (BIT).

U Yone Moe served as Dean of Engineering. He became Rector of Rangoon Institute of Technology.

U Sein Hla (MIT alumnus) served as Registrar.

The newly minted Sayas include

  • U Maung Maung Win (M61)
  • Dr. Sann Tint (EE61, GBNF)
  • Dr. Aung Soe (C61)
  • U Myint Lwin (H Num Pon, C61)
  • Dr. Julie Han (T61, GBNF)
  • Daw Amy Thwin (T61, GBNF)

SEAP Games

The Second SEAP Games was held in Rangoon in December 1961.

Burma dominated in

  • Track and Field
  • Swimming
  • Boxing
University Athletes

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s